Understanding Your Sacral Chakra with Falli Shah

Our last Understanding Your Chakras class, we learned about the Svadhisthana (Sacral) Chakra!

Take a look at some of the things we went over below:

  • Purpose: Authentic Creation/ Soul Fire / Sexuality
  • Location: Slightly below the navel
  • Color: Orange
  • Sound: D / Ohm
  • Element: Water
  • Archangel: Gabriel
  • Glands: Ovaries/Testicles
  • Virtue/Vice: Temperance/Greed

We also learned about what happens in and outside of the body when the Svadhisthana chakra is balanced, unbalancced, underactive, and overactive.

When the sacral chakra is balanced you may feel:

  • Healthy creative expression
  • Balanced hormones
  • Ability to experience pleasure
  • Generous and giving
  • Nurturing to self
  • Healthy boundaries

When the sacral chakra is unbalanced you may feel:

  • Disorders of the reproductive organs, urinary system, gallbladder, kidney
  • Infertility
  • Menstrual difficulties
  • Sexual dysfunction
  • Lack of flexibility

When the sacral chakra is underactive you may feel:

  • Unemotional
  • Guarded
  • Sexual repression
  • Lack of desire/passion

When the sacral chakra is overactive you may feel:

  • Excessive sex drive
  • Compulsive behaviors
  • Overly emotional
  • Emotional dependency

Crystals to use for the sacral chakra:

  • Emerald: encourages friendship and fulfills love
  • Carnelian: strong influence on the sacral chakra
  • Moonstone and Aquamarine: helps to balance the sacral chakra

Essential Oils for the sacral chakra:

  • Cinnamon
  • Cypress
  • Tangerine/Orange
  • Black pepper

We even learned that the sacral chakra is linked to the aura through the Emotional Body (lower emotional) when you are in flow with your feelings. Rooted in the spine two inches below the navel, the sacral chakra is responsible for the basic needs of sexuality, creativity, self-worth, intuition and is the vibrational level of feelings.

Foods for the sacral chakra:

  • Cashews
  • Mangoes
  • Carrots
  • Oranges
  • Peaches
  • Hemp seeds

You can even do the natrasana, goddess, and trikonasana yoga poses to help balance the sacral chakra.

Lastly, we learned the Svadhisthana in sanskrit means “sweetness” or “one’s own place“. This chakra can be thought of as our own inner temple and is the center of femininity, sensuality, feeling, and creativity. The sacral chakra is in constant movement and igniting this chakra is a great way to move through difficult emotions. Dance is a wonderful way to reconnect with your sweet place.

Affirmations for the sacral chakra:

“I am authentically creating a life free of stress and full of bliss.”

“My emotions are balanced.”

“I am a sacred being, am worthy of love, and desirable to others.”

“It is my birthright to receive pleasure and have my needs met.” 

Feel free to take notes on all of the material mentioned above if you missed out on this class.

*If you are interested in our next class, we will be covering the topic of the Solar Plexus chakra and the aura associated with it in February so stay tuned!